Our School of Nursing opened its doors in 1901.
Our first student, Annabell McAnulty, graduated in 1904 (head here for the full account of her ceremony).
In 1930, the Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth, with a long tradition of healthcare ministry, took over management of the Hospital. The institution remained a non-sectarian, community hospital.
In 1963, our Hospital began a School of Radiologic Technology. A newspaper account of their first capping exercise in 1964 can be found here.
In 1968 the Hospital’s campus saw even more changes. The School of Nursing was remodeled, and a three story addition to the Hospital was made. This enlarged the Emergency and Outpatient facilities, provided new offices for physicians and administrators and added new Laboratory and Radiology facilities.
Recent expansion included a foray into Senior Living. Senior Living at The Willows was built across the street on Heckel Road in the early 2000s, with The Residence at Willow Lane, a contemporary personal care community, Willow Heights, an independent living apartment center, and Pathways Memory Care, for those who need help with memory loss.
Our School of Nursing celebrated its 100 year mark in 2001. The school typically has class sizes of 50 students per year, and operates as an accredited 19 month program.
In 2014, Ohio Valley General Hospital again changed its name: this time to Ohio Valley Hospital. With the transition, our Hospital has been able to introduce a new modern look to support our state-of-the-art medical technology, first-rate medical staff, and dedicated employees, while maintaining a convenient, personal, and close-to-home experience for every patient.
Our School of Radiography celebrated it’s 50th commencement in 2015. You can read more about that ceremony here. This very selective program is open to 9 students a year, and graduating students earn an Associate’s Degree in Health Science from La Roche College, alongside a Certificate of Radiologic Technology.